April is National Poetry Month TAKE TWO

Dogs

When I was six years old I hit one with
a baseball bat. An accident, of course,
and broke his jaw. They put that dog to sleep,
a euphemism even then I knew
could not excuse me from the lasting wrath
of memory’s flagellation. My remorse
could dog me as it would, it wouldn’t keep
me from the life sentence that I drew:

For I’ve been barked at, bitten, nipped, knocked flat,
slobbered over, humped, sprayed, beshat,
by spaniel, terrier, retriever, bull and Dane.
But through the years what’s given me most pain
of all the dogs I’ve been the victim of
are those whose slow eyes gazed at me, in love.

-Ronald Wallace

I like dogs and I like rhyming and I like poems that kick you in the stomach and make you weep for the future of humanity. Whadda we got here, then? Trifecta!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “April is National Poetry Month TAKE TWO

  1. GOD, why do dogs pull at my heartstrings so much easier than humans?

Leave a comment